Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School educates more than 6,400 undergraduate, master’s and doctoral students in accounting, finance, management of information systems, management, marketing and supply chain management. The school consistently ranks among the top public business schools.

Mays partners with national and regional business executives to deliver relevant education shaped by industry expectations and insights. Mays’ home in the Wehner Building offers a vibrant learning environment for faculty and students, featuring interactive teaching tools, wireless Internet throughout the building and multiple computer labs.

Mays is accredited by AACSB-International, the premier accrediting agency and service organization for business schools. Our mission is to be a vibrant learning organization that creates impactful knowledge and develops transformational leaders.

Milestones in Mays history


  • Business education intermingled with mechanical and agricultural programs. Courses included single- and double-entry bookkeeping and creamery management.


  • Department of Economics offers business courses


  • Agricultural Administration programs offers business courses


  • Formation of accounting and statistics, farm and ranch management, marketing and finance departments


  • Department of Business and Accounting formed in School of Arts & Sciences, Thomas W. Leland named department head
  • First master’s degree awarded in accounting and statistics


  • General MBA degree offered
  • Department moves from temporary structure into Francis Hall


  • Center for Executive Development established


  • School of Business Administration formed; John E. Pearson becomes head after the retirement of Thomas W. Leland


  • School of Business departmentalized into programs of study in accounting, business analysis and research, finance, marketing and management


  • Implementation of MBA degree


  • College of Business Administration formed; John E. Pearson named dean


  • The Texas Real Estate Research Center (now part of Mays) is created by Texas Governor Preston Smith


  • College accredited by American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business
  • First Ph.D. awarded


  • William V. Muse appointed dean upon the retirement of John E. Pearson


  • First business career fair held


  • College moves to the Blocker Building


  • James Benjamin is appointed head of the Department of Accounting (currently still serves in this role)


  • William H. Mobley appointed dean, succeeding Clinton A. Phillips who served as interim dean for one year
  • Center for Retailing Studies established
  • Fellows Program created


  • Center for International Business Studies created


  • Business Honors Program created


  • A. Benton Cocanougher appointed dean after interim dean Don Hellriegel serves for one year
  • Texas Real Estate Center moves to college from College of Agriculture
  • Center for New Ventures and Entrepreneurship created


  • Center for the Management of Information Systems created


  • Center for Human Resource Management established
  • Center for International Business funded as a Center for International Business Education and Research


  • Implementation of the bachelor’s degree in agribusiness


  • Professional Program in Accounting formed
  • Outstanding Alumni Awards established


  • Center for the Study of Western Hemispheric Trade created


  • College moves to the Wehner Building
  • Graduate Business Career Services center created


  • College is endowed by Mr. Lowry Mays ’57, founder and CEO of Clear Channel Communications endows. In honor of this $15 million gift, the college is renamed the Lowry Mays College & Graduate School of Business.


  • Implementation of master’s degree in agribusiness


  • Executive MBA Program accepts first class
  • Reliant Energy Trading Center founded
  • College adopts enrollment management for the undergraduate program


  • Jerry R. Strawser ’83 becomes dean upon the retirement of A. Benton Cocanougher


  • College renamed to Mays Business School


  • State-of-the-art Jerry and Kay Cox Hall opens, adding classroom and office space, as well as permanent space for the trading center and the Cocanougher Special Events Center


  • The Center for New Ventures and Entrepreneurship hosts its inaugural Aggie 100 award ceremony


  • Ricky W. Griffin serves as interim dean for one year during Jerry R. Strawser’s tenure as interim Executive Vice President and Provost of Texas A&M University


  • Executive MBA Program ranked #1 by Wall Street Journal
  • Paul “Buck” Eckels ’52 gives $3.5M estate gift
  • Mays CPA pass rates among the highest in Texas
  • First Entrepreneurship Bootcamp for Veterans with Disabilities (EBV) program offered at Texas A&M


  • Paul Kruse ’77 and Blue Bell Creameries fund chair in business at A&M
  • Peggy and Lowry Mays ’57 continue investment in Mays Business School
  • Anonymous bequest provides $3M to Mays Business School


  • Mays finance program ranked 5th nationally by recruiters
  • Gallery Furniture provides interactive retailing library at Mays


  • Accounting professor Mary Lea McAnally takes helm of Mays graduate programs
  • First students complete Trading, Risk and Investments Program


  • Full-Time Mays MBA rises into Top 10 in Bloomberg Businessweek ranking
  • Mays opens custom educational facility in CityCentre Houston for Professional and Executive MBA programs.
  • First Professional Mays MBA class meets.


  • All Mays accounting programs break into Top 10
  • Mays undergraduate program receives all A’s in national rankings
  • Mays team wins national Wall Street Journal competition
  • Mays MBA team sweeps ethical leadership case competition


  • Jerry Strawser leaves position as dean for job as vice president of finance and administration at Texas A&M
  • Ricky W. Griffin serves as interim dean
  • Mike Hitt receives inaugural Mays Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship


  • Eli Jones ’82 named dean of Mays Business School
  • MS Business program is launched
  • Professional Selling Initiative launch ceremony is held
  • Leonard Berry receives Mays Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship


  • Anthony Bahr ’91 and Jay Graham ’92 invest $12 million to help launch the Petroleum Ventures Program (PVP) 
  • Mays moves up two places in U.S. News & World Report “Best Business Programs”rankings of undergraduate business programs nationwide to 17th among public universities and 27th overall
  • Mays moves up in 2016 Bloomberg Rankings to 18th overall and 4th public for “Best full-time MBA programs”
  • New course on Strategic Philanthropy allows students to allocate $50,000 in grant money to nonprofit organizations
  • Rajan Varadarajan receives Mays Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship
  • Office of Diversity and Inclusion is created and directed by Annie McGowan


  • Mays Business School receives a commitment of $25 million from the Mays Family Foundation, the largest single commitment in the school’s history
  • Mays MS Business program celebrates first graduating class
  • Mays is recognized  as “Top Tier” in CEO Magazine’s 2017 Global MBA Rankings
  • Arvind Mahajan is named Piper Professor for Excellence in Teaching
  • Reynolds and Reynolds Entrepreneurship Bootcamp for Veterans Program is named
  • KPMG is named the 2017 Mays Business School Corporate Partner of the Year
  • Mays presents the inaugural Peggy and Lowry Mays Impact Award to Peggy and Lowry Mays
  • Duane Ireland receives Mays Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship
  • Mays welcomes Texas A&M University Institute for Advanced Studies (TIAS) scholar V Kumar
  • Mays honors 2017 Outstanding Alumni: Gregory M. Cokinos ’79, Cydney Collier Donnell ’81 and Carri Baker ’84
  • Mays is recognized by AACSB International with 2017 Innovations that Inspire award