Mays’ former students continue to make news within their industries. Here’s a roundup of the top honors they’ve netted.

• Charles Tomkovick, marketing PhD graduate, received the Excellence in Teaching Award from the University of Wisconsin—Eau Claire, marking the second time the professor of marketing earned the award. Tomkovick joined UW-Eau Claire’s faculty in 1992, and has been a nominee three times for the CASE/Carnegie Foundation’s U.S. Professor of the Year. His teaching and research focuses on product and brand management and marketing principles and strategy.

•Joe B. Foster ’56, a BBA and petroleum engineering graduate, was inducted in the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets Hall of Honor in September. Foster was in leadership roles at Tenneco Oil Exploration for more than 30 years before founding Newfield Exploration Co. in 1989. He now chairs the oil and gas exploration company’s board. Foster is a 2001 Mays Outstanding Alumnus and was named a Texas A&M Distinguished Alumnus in 1997. At Mays he established the Joe B. Foster ’56 Chair, now held by Distinguished Professor Michael A. Hitt.

• Hollinden Marketing, run by MBA graduate and Center for New Ventures and Entrepreneurship advisory board member Christine Hollinden, was named 18th among the top 50 fastest-growing woman-owned companies by The Houston Business Journal. The marketing firm also earned a Bronze Quill award from the Houston chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators for its promotion of the inaugural 2005 Aggie 100.