Young Scholars Finance Consortium

March 28-30, 2019

The Young Scholars Finance Consortium is an annual conference that provides promising junior faculty and advanced Ph.D. students in finance with the opportunity to present their research and receive feedback from each other as well as a select group of highly accomplished scholars.

The program committee for the 2019 Consortium includes Vikas Agarwal, Turan Bali, David Chapman, Lauren Cohen, Zhi Da, Karl Diether, Gregory Duffee, Wayne Ferson, Michael Gallmeyer, Bing Han, Burton Hollifield, Ravi Jagannathan, Marcin Kacperczyk, Leonid Kogan, Ralph Koijen, Bing Liang, Andrew Lo, Dong Lou, Deborah Lucas, Terrance Odean, Dimitris Papanikolaou, Neil Pearson, Jeffrey Pontiff, Adam Reed, Clemens Sialm, Laura Starks, Allan Timmermann, Heather Tookes, Kumar Venkataraman, Neng Wang, Russ Wermers, Jeffrey Wurgler, Fernando Zapatero, Lu Zhang, Lu Zheng, Guofu Zhou, as well as the entire research-active Finance faculty at Texas A&M University. Several of the committee members are also committed to serving as discussantsin the conference.

Wayne Ferson (USC) will deliver the Academic Keynote Address, andBritt Harris (UTIMCO) will deliver the Practitioner Keynote Address.

TOPICS:The topics of our annual consortium alternate between Asset Pricing/Investments and Corporate Finance/Financial Intermediation. The 2019 Consortium will focus on Asset Pricing/Investments.

We invite all advanced Ph.D. students and untenured junior faculty, who received their first full-time faculty appointment within the last seven years, to submit papers related to Asset Pricing/Investments for the conference (co-authors may be more senior). There is no submission fee, and both theoretical and empirical work is welcome.

To encourage Ph.D. student participation, we will guarantee a presentation slot, pay all travel expenses and waive the registration fee for the presenter of the best paper whose authors are all Ph.D. students.

CONFERENCE DETAILS:The conference will begin with a 6pm cocktail party on Thursday, March 28, followed by a full day of sessions, keynote addresses, and dinner on March 29. Events on Saturday, March 30 will consist of a half day of sessions and a lunch that ends around 1pm. These meals are included in the $250 registration fee. The conference will take place at Mays Business School in College Station, TX. Participants can fly into College Station (CLL). We will also provide convenient ground transportation free of charge to and from the Houston (IAH) airport at set times on Thursday and Saturday. Attendees will stay at The George, a brand-new 4-star hotel, only minutes away from our school.

Registration information and past Consortiums can be found here.