R. Duane Ireland

University Distinguished Professor Emeritus


Duane Ireland is a University Distinguished Professor and holds the Benton Cocanougher Chair in Business in Mays Business School, Texas A&M University. He received his Ph.D. from Texas Tech University.

On June 14, 2021, Ireland was appointed Interim Dean of Mays Business School and remained in that role until August 14, 2022. He had been Acting Dean of the school since Jan. 1, 2021.

He has served as Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship at Mays Business School since September 1, 2020. Previously, he served as Executive Associate Dean for Mays Business School for five years and as Head of the Management Department for two years.

He has authored or co-authored more than 20 books and published numerous articles in journals such as the Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Learning & Education, Academy of Management Executive, Academy of Management Perspectives, Strategic Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, Decision Sciences, Journal of Management, Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, Journal of Business Venturing, and Journal of Management Studies, among others.

His recent publications include two books: Strategic Management: Competitiveness and Globalization, 13th Edition (2020), Cengage Publishing, and Entrepreneurship: Successfully Launching New Ventures, 6th Edition (2019), Pearson Publishing.

He completed a three-year term as the Editor of the Academy of Management Journal. He also has served as an Associate Editor for the Academy of Management Journal and for the Academy of Management Executive and as a Consulting Editor for Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice. In addition, he has served on the editorial review boards for over two dozen journals. He has been a Co-Editor of 13 special issues for journals such as the Academy of Management Review, Strategic Management Journal, Academy of Management Executive, Journal of Business Venturing, Organizational Research Methods, and Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal.

In 2014, he served as the 69th president of the Academy of Management, a worldwide association with approximately 20,000 members representing over 110 countries. Previously, he completed a term as a member of the Board of Governors for the Academy of Management (2002-2005). He is a Fellow of the Academy of Management, a Fellow of the Strategic Management Society, a Research Fellow in the Global Entrepreneurship Consortium, a Riata Entrepreneurship Scholar, and a Falcone Fellow in Entrepreneurship.

He has been included on four separate occasions in the Economics and Business section of the list of “The Most Highly Cited Researchers’ List” (compiled by Clarivate Analytics). He has received several awards including the 2017 Academy of Management Career Achievement Award for Distinguished Service, the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship (given by Mays Business School), and the Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award for Research from Texas A&M University in 2012. In 2017, he was the inaugural recipient of the Distinguished Service Award from the Strategic Management Division of the Academy of Management. In 2018, he received recognition as a Distinguished Alumnus of the Rawls College of Business, Texas Tech University.