Mays’ Extreme Tax (or xTAX) team was among the top five finalists and will compete in the national competition Jan. 27-28. During the national case-based competition, sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers, teams addressed the fair taxation of Internet transactions.

Representing Mays at the finals in Washington, D.C. will be Chris Simpson, Jennifer Denton, Brent Snyder, David Gray and Andrea Cox. Each student will receive $3,000 plus a trip to Washington, D.C. They will vie for the Alexander Hamilton Cup with teams from DePaul University, Brigham Young University, the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Wisconsin.

The five finalists survived a competition that included approximately 250 teams from about 30 major universities and colleges, says Associate Professor of Accounting Dr. Michael Kinney, who advises the team.

“The students are looking forward to the trip to Washington D.C. both for the competition and the opportunity to meet some of the key D.C. insiders who influence and set tax policy for the country,” says Kinney.