Several faculty members and PhD students were honored for their work at Mays’ spring faculty/staff meeting.

Earning the Mays Faculty Fellowship for Teaching Innovation, a two-year appointment, are Associate Professor of Finance L. Paige Fields and Professor of Finance John C. Groth.

Mays awarded four $10,000 summer teaching grants to: Senior Lecturer in Finance J. Amanda Adkisson and Assistant Clinical Professor of Finance Detlef Hallerman; Associate Professor of Accounting Annie McGowan; Associate Professor of Accounting Mike S. Wilkins; and Professor of Accounting Christopher J. Wolfe.

The school also awarded summer research grants in the amount of $10,000 each to:

  • Leonard Bierman, management professor; Michael A. Hitt, distinguished professor of management; and Donald R. Fraser, finance professor
  • Trevis Certo, assistant professor of management
  • Cindy Devers, assistant professor of management
  • Shane A. Johnson, professor of finance
  • Rogelio Oliva, associate professor of information and operations management
  • Christopher O.L.H. Porter, assistant professor of management
  • Sorin Sorescu, associate professor of finance
  • Elizabeth Umphress, assistant professor of management
  • Christopher J. Wolfe, professor of accounting
  • Manjit Yadav, associate professor of marketing

Three PhD students were recognized during the meeting with the 2004-2005 Dean’s Award for Outstanding Research by a Doctoral Student. They include: Bilal Erturk in finance, Celile Gogus in management and Kartik Kalaignanam in marketing.

Five PhD students were recognized with the 2004-2005 Dean’s Award for Outstanding Teaching. They are: Kun Wang in accounting; Julie Wu in finance; Arunachalam Narayanan in information and operations management; John Bingham in management; and J. Garry Smith in marketing.

Also this spring, Andersen & Co. Chair in Accounting Robert H. Strawser was honored with the 2005 KPMG Mentoring Award from the Gender Issues and Worklife Balance Section of the American Accounting Association. Winners of the award have demonstrated significant mentoring of women in the accounting profession for at least 10 years.