The Center for Retailing Studies organized the second annual Retailing Hall of Fame held in January in New York, introducing A&M students to a crowd of famed retailers.

Nine Zale Leadership Scholars and two Corps of Cadet members helped host the ceremonies. Six executives were inducted into the Retailing Hall of Fame, nominated by members of the Retail Writer’s Guild, and ultimately selected by a board of senior executives. The awards honor the greatest leaders in retail, both past and present.

This year’s inductees include Marvin Girouard ’61, chairman and CEO of Pier 1 Imports and a 1995 Mays Outstanding Alumnus; Len Roberts, executive chairman of RadioShack Corporation; CEO Kip Tindell, Chairman Garrett Boone and Chief Merchandising Officer Sharon Tindell of The Container Store; and R. H. Macy, founder of Macy’s. In addition, Talbots was presented with the Maritz Research Retailing Leadership Award for its commitment to helping women obtain college degrees.

David M. Szymanski, founder of the Retailing Hall of Fame and director of the Center for Retailing Studies, said the Hall of Fame fills an important void in celebrating retailing and “represents the forum for permanently recognizing leaders in retailing.”

A portion of the proceeds to the sold-out event benefit the Retailing Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship Fund, which provides two full-tuition scholarships to students pursuing retailing studies at Mays. This year’s recipients are junior marketing majors Heather Haralson and Lauren Rambo.

Visit to learn more about the Hall of Fame honorees.