Two distinguished marketing professors are among the most-cited and most-published authors in the past 25 years of research in the top-tier Journal of Marketing. Both measures are key indicators of the influence and pervasiveness of scholarly research.

A recent University of Oklahoma study by marketing scholar Jeffrey Schmidt examined the past quarter century of scholarship in the Journal of Marketing to determine the authors who have contributed the most to the journal and whose work has helped make the journal a background source for future investigations in the field.

The Journal of Marketing is commonly regarded among the top 5 research journals in the marketing discipline.

Distinguished Professor of Marketing and M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership Leonard L. Berry had the most-cited article in the journal’s life from 1980-2004. That article, “A Conceptual Model of Service Quality and Its Implications for Future Research,” is co-authored by former Mays faculty members Valerie Zeithaml, now at the UNC-Chapel Hill, and A. Parasuraman, now on faculty at the Univeristy of Miami, in the fall 1985 issue.

Distinguished Professor and Ford Chair in Markeitng & E-Commerce Rajan Varadarajan is also top of the most prolific list, tied for first with Texas Tech Professor Shelby Hunt for having published the most articles (14) in the journal in the past 25 years.

The marketing department is already known for its contributions to scholarship. The American Marketing Association has ranked the department 25th for faculty research impact in 2003. School-wide, Mays faculty is ranked 8th U.S. public and 26th in the world for research by the London-based Financial Times, and 12th U.S. public by the Social Science Research Network in terms of the number of research items downloaded by other scholars as resource material for their work.

In additional news for marketing scholars in October, Brandon C. Colemnan, Jr. ’78 Chair in Marketing Venkatesh Shankar was named among the top 20 area editors of Marketing Science during the last two and four years.