Mays honored its outstanding staff of faculty researchers, mentors and service providers this week in an annual meeting to close out the fall semester.

For the first time, the school recognized the work of faculty mentors who were instrumental in the creation and maintenance of small-group learning communities for 781 business freshmen. This fall was the first semester all incoming first-year students were invited to join their peers in weekly group meetings with student and faculty mentors. More than 160 faculty and upperclass students formed a network of support and resources for these business freshmen. Faculty also paired one-on-one with 60 business Regents Scholars, who are first-generation college students.

Faculty mentors were nominated for Mays awards by the students they helped guide this fall. Associate Professor of Finance Sorin Sorescu and Accounting Senior Lecturer Lanie Thornton were the first recipients of Mays’ Regents Scholars Mentor Award. Accounting Lecturer Mary Stasny and Keith Swim, Jr., management clinical associate professor, were likewise the inaugural honorees of Mays’ Freshman Business Initiative Mentor Award.

Administrators also honored the work of staff members with the Outstanding Staff Awards for 2006. Winners, cited for their dedication to their work and coworkers and their unfailing good humor in the face of challenges, are: Linda Huckaby, administrative assistant in Mays’ Undergraduate Program Office;Karen Rabroker, business coordinator II in the Executive MBA and Master’s Program Office; Teresa Warner, business associate III in the Department of Finance; and Phyllis Washburn, administrative assistant in the Department of Management.

Mays Distinguished Achievement in Research Awards were presented to Coleman Chair and Professor in Marketing Venkatesh Shankar and to Ekkehart Boehmer, an associate professor of finance and Mays Research Fellow. Mays Research Fellowships were awarded to: Wendy Boswell, associate professor of management and director of the Center for Human Resource Management, a two-time fellowship winner; Professor of Marketing Sanjay Jain; Assistant Professor of Marketing Alina Sorescu; Associate Professor of Finance Sorin Sorescu, also a two-time fellow; Management Associate Professor Laszlo Tihanyi; and Assistant Professor of Management Elizabeth E. Umphress.

“It’s hard each year to name just a few of the incredible staff and faculty we have on hand for these awards,” Dean Jerry Strawser said. “We are truly blessed to work with such a wonderful group of colleagues.”