Four business graduates and Student Body President Nic Taunton, a finance major, are among the 15 members of the new search committee formed in January to find former Texas A&M President Rober M. Gates’ replacement.

The former students are Jerry Cox ’72, namesake of Cox Hall; Bill Flores ’76, president of The Association of Former Students’ board of directors; Lupe Fraga ’57, a Texas A&M System Regent and owner of Tejas Office Supply; and Royce Hickman ’64, CEO of the B/CS Chamber of Commerce.

Gates left Texas A&M in December to become the nation’s secretary of defense. Former Texas A&M Foundation President Ed Davis is serving as interim president as the search for a permanent university president commences.

The search will take roughly six to nine months. The search committee is tasked with screening and interviewing candidates before making a final recommendation to Texas A&M University System Chancellor Michael McKinney.