The Center for New Ventures and Entrepreneurship (CNVE) at Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School has named the 2008 recipients of the Aggie 100 Entrepreneurial Scholars Awards. Of the 14 proposals seeking funding, four were selected for a total of $20,000 in grant support.

After an extensive review process, the proposals chosen were from three PhD students and one faculty member. The selected individuals were:

  • Gautham Gopal, marketing PhD student, for his proposal, “How do early growth strategies affect the performance of start-up ventures? An empirical analysis.”
  • Michael Holmes and Justin Webb, management PhD students, for their proposal, “The relationships between entrepreneurs’ psychological characteristics, their behaviors and their performance.”
  • Ramkumar Janakiraman, assistant professor of marketing, for his proposal, “Tapping into word of mouth effect for new product launch: Insights from a start-up firm.”
  • Justin Webb, management PhD student, for his proposal, “Goal orientation as shaping entrepreneurial processes and firm performance.”

The proposals were judged on a variety of attributes including potential interest in the entrepreneurial and academic communities, reflection on Texas A&M University, practical ability to complete research in a timely manner, and overall quality of the proposal.

Each year the CNVE recognizes the 100 fastest growing Aggie-owned or -operated businesses through the Aggie 100 program. The funding for these entrepreneurship research grants comes from gifts from the 2005, 2006 and 2007 Aggie 100 honorees. This is the first year the scholars program has been offered. The program accomplishes one of the center’s main objectives: to give back and support Mays Business School’s academic programs.

In the coming months, there will be an estimated $20,000 of additional scholarship support offered through this program for undergraduate and master’s students. The center hopes to repeat this program each year by creating an endowment with a portion of the annual contributions made by the Aggie 100 classes.