Students from across the state will receive $10,000 scholarships from the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation during a ceremony in November. Ryan Goodnight ’11, an MBA student at Mays, was one of the 19 students (one from each of the major universities in Texas) to be chosen for this honor.

Ryan Goodnight '11
Goodnight ’11

The selection process has applicants explain their ideas to impact Texas business in the future. Goodnight’s idea is starting an aerospace company capitalizing on the evolving private space flight industry and helping Texas maintain its status as the world’s center for space activity. The process includes other questions as well as an interview with a foundation representative. “A few weeks later, I was surprised to hear that I was selected,” he says.

Goodnight’s background is in engineering. He holds both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in aerospace from Texas A&M University.

Now in its 28th year, the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation honors members of the state’s business community whose visions and careers have helped to place Texas at the forefront of the 21st century economy and seeks out the future entrepreneurs and leaders that will maintain Texas’ position.

“These 2010 scholarship recipients represent the best of the young men and women of Texas. They have an entrepreneurial spirit, high integrity and a strong personal drive,” stated Foundation Chairman Amy Chronis. “We congratulate them on their success and expect them to compete, contribute and thrive in this highly connected world, making their communities better places to live.”

To date, the Texas Business Hall of Fame has awarded more than $3 million in scholarships to students pursuing an education at Texas’ leading institutions of higher learning.

In addition to the scholarship winners, the Texas Business Hall of Fame will honor prominent Texas business leaders. Inductees are San Antonio’s Carlos Alvarez and Harvey Najim, Robert Duncan from Houston and Fort Worth’s W.A. “Tex” Moncrief, Jr. and W.A. “Monty” Moncrief (posthumously).

Since its inception, the Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation has inducted 154 honorees, including Mays’ eponymous benefactor L. Lowry Mays; former President George H.W. Bush; and others.

About TBHF

The Texas Business Hall of Fame Foundation is a non-profit organization of 70 directors who are business leaders from cities throughout the state. The organization’s mission is to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of Texas business leaders, to perpetuate and inspire the values of entrepreneurial spirit, personal integrity and community leadership in all generations of Texans. For additional information, contact the TBHF office at 713.993.9433 or visit