Mays Business School at Texas A&M University will present its annual Dean’s Distinguished Scholar Lecture on Friday, September 24, at 10:30 a.m. The invited scholar for the 2010 event is Philip Kotler, S.C. Johnson & Son Distinguished Professor of International Marketing at Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University.

The Dean’s Distinguished Scholar Lecture Series is a forum to present the best in scholarly thought from an array of business disciplines. The event, which is open to the public, will be held in the Ray Auditorium (113 Wehner).

About Philip Kotler

One of the foremost thinkers in the field of marketing, Kotler is the author of a number of books including Marketing Management (13th ed.), the most widely used marketing book in graduate business schools worldwide; as well as non-academic titles such as Ten Deadly Marketing Sins, Chaotics, and Up and Out of Poverty.

Philip Kotler

He is responsible for new concepts in marketing including demarketing, megamarketing, turbomarketing and synchromarketing. He believes that marketing theory needs to go beyond price theory and incorporate the dynamics of innovation, distribution and promotion systems into analyzing, explaining and predicting economic outcomes.

He has published more than 150 articles in leading journals, several of which have received best-article awards. He is recognized as being one of the most prolific scholars in the field of marketing.

Kotler has consulted for such companies as IBM, General Electric, AT&T, Honeywell, Bank of America, Merck, Samsung and others in the areas of marketing strategy and planning, marketing organization and international marketing. He has traveled extensively throughout Europe, Asia and South America, advising companies how to apply sound economic and marketing science principles to increase competitiveness. He has also advised foreign governments on developing the service quality of government agencies and how governments can support their domestic companies to prosper in the global marketplace.

Over the span of his career, he has been recognized with many top awards and honors, including the Distinguished Marketing Educator Award from the American Marketing Association and the Marketer of the Year award from Sales and Marketing Executives International.

He has been chairman of the College of Marketing of the Institute of Management Sciences, a director of the American Marketing Association, a trustee of the Marketing Science Institute, a director of the MAC Group, a former member of the Yankelovich advisory board, and a member of the Copernicus advisory board. He has been a member of the board of governors of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and a member of the advisory board of the Drucker Foundation.

He earned a master’s degree at the University of Chicago and a PhD at MIT, both in economics. He did post-doctoral work in mathematics at Harvard University and in behavioral science at the University of Chicago. He has received honorary doctoral degrees from the Stockholm University, University of Zurich, Athens University of Economics and Business, DePaul University, the Cracow School of Business and Economics, Groupe H.E.C. in Paris, the University of Economics and Business Administration in Vienna, Budapest University of Economic Science and Public Administration, and the Catholic University of Santo Domingo.