Ricky W. Griffin

Ricky W. Griffin has been named interim dean of Mays Business School. He will serve in this role until the national search for the school’s next permanent dean is completed.

Provost Karan Watson selected Griffin after reviewing faculty nominations and discussing the matter with members of the Mays faculty. Griffin is a University Distinguished Professor and head of the Management Department.

As Griffin assumed his new role on Sept. 24, he acknowledged the long and distinguished service of Jerry R. Strawser, who was recently appointed vice president for finance and administration and CFO for Texas A&M University. “Under Jerry’s leadership, Mays has firmly established itself as one of the leading business schools in the world,” he said.

Griffin joined the Texas A&M University faculty in 1981 and is holder of the Jeane and John R. Blocker Chair. In addition to his leadership as department head, he has also served Mays as interim dean from June 2007 to August 2008 and as executive associate dean from June 2000 to June 2007.

“Going forward, we are fortunate to have a strong leadership team in place,” Griffin said. “I am confident that this team will make both this transition and the next one as seamless as possible. We will continue to build on our successes and our strengths while also looking for new opportunities to enhance our research and educational programs and meet our service obligations. We will continue to nurture the professional development of everyone associated with Mays and strive to be recognized as a center of excellence within the University, our professions, and the business community.”

While Griffin is serving as interim dean, Duane Ireland will be interim department head of the Management Department at Mays. Ireland is University Distinguished Professor, holds the Conn Chair in New Ventures Leadership, and is past president of the Academy of Management.