Texas A&M University’s Committee of Senior Business Administrators (CSBA) presents two Best in Business Staff awards annually – one to an individual staff member and one to a team of two or more people. It is rare for one college to receive both, but Mays Business School accomplished it this year.

Patty Tatro, business administrator I in the Center for Executive Development (CED), and Kyra Gunn, business coordinator I in the Office of the Dean, received the team award. Sabrina Saladino, academic business administrator II in the department of management, received the individual award.


Kyra Gunn and Patty Tatro (center).

The awards recognize and reward superior service by Texas A&M support staff members in business-related positions. Recipients are those who have made distinguished contributions to Texas A&M and regularly exemplify outstanding service, a commitment to excellence, leadership, innovation, initiative, and support for quality of work life.

The three recipients’ work contributions and accomplishments have extended beyond their administrative responsibilities, according to their nominators. Tatro and Gunn have worked together to spearhead the revamping of fiscal reporting processes for the CED. During her 25 years of service at Mays, Saladino pursued and received a master’s degree in management, a graduate certificate in Women’s Studies and certification in mediation conflict resolution. In addition, she has taught three undergraduate courses for the department and served as the inaugural chair of the Mays Staff Council.

Saladino said receiving the award was humbling. “I love Texas A&M, Mays Business School and the management department, and I am proud of the career that I aspire to,” she said afterward. “There is no doubt in my mind that this is the best place to work. To be recognized for your commitment to outstanding service as well as being considered an example of excellence, leadership, innovation, initiative and support for the quality of work life at Texas A&M encompasses all I believe in.”

The recipients were given engraved plaques and awards checks at the Business Award Ceremony on May 23 at the CSBA workshop.


Sabrina Saladino (third from left).