Duane Ireland has been named the 2017 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award  – the highest award given to a faculty member at Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School for sustained and outstanding scholarly contributions.

Ireland is Executive Associate Dean of Mays Business School and University Distinguished Professor and holds the Benton Cocanougher Chair in Business at Texas A&M University.

Dean Eli Jones called Ireland’s scholarly record “a distinguished one.” He said “Ireland’s work has included multiple publications in major journals as well as a significant amount of editorial service (with the potential highlight of this service being his term as editor for the Academy of Management Journal).”  

Ireland is also a recipient of the Association of Former Students’ Award for Research, and is a Fellow of the Academy of Management and of the Strategic Management Society. He received his Ph.D. and MBA from Texas Tech University.

Ireland is prolific in academic journals, having published numerous articles in journals such as the Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Learning & Education, Strategic Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, Decision Sciences, Journal of Management, Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, Journal of Business Venturing and Journal of Management Studies, among others. He is a former editor of the Academy of Management Journal and served as the 69th president of the Academy of Management, a worldwide association with approximately 20,000 members.

The Lifetime Achievement Award has a rigorous selection process beginning with faculty nominations. The Mays Research Council and the Mays Executive Committee then reviewed nominees and made their recommendations to Jones, who confirmed Ireland’s selection.

Ireland will be honored at Mays on April 20 with an award presentation and remarks 9:30-10:30 a.m. in 190 Wehner and a reception 10:30-11:30 a.m. in the Cocanougher Center, Room 183 of the Wehner Building. The public is welcome to attend.

Previous recipients of this prestigious award include:

  • Rajan Varadarajan, University Distinguished Professor of Marketing (2016)
  • Leonard Berry, University Distinguished Professor of Marketing (2015)
  • Michael A. Hitt, University Distinguished Professor of Management (2014)