Mays recognized faculty, staff, and Ph.D. students at the Aug. 25 Faculty/Staff Meeting.

New Staff Colleagues: 

  • Emily Ponder, Executive Assistant I (ACCT)
  • Sarah Hooper, Academic Advisor I (UAO)
  • Bailey Urban, Program Coordinator (BUSP)
  • Kimberly Sutphen, Assistant Director (CED)
  • Andrew Vernon, Communications Specialist II (CRS)
  • Cassie Bell, Assistant Director of Development (DEANS)
  • Blake Parrish, Director of Marketing, Communications and Public Relations (DEANS, Marcomm)
  • Tom Rolicki, Digital Services Marketing Manager (DEANS, Marcomm)
  • Taylor Stephens, Communications Specialist (DEANS, Marcomm)
  • Karen Lepley, Assistant Director (EMBA)
  • Alden DeMoss, Graphic Designer I (REC)

New Faculty Colleagues:

  • Brent Garza, Assistant Professor (ACCT)
  • Rebekah Haverick, Lecturer (ACCT)
  • Ana Kolasinski, Lecturer (ACCT)
  • Paolina Medina, Assistant Professor (FINC)
  • M. Christopher Meitzen, Lecturer (FINC)
  • Alexandar Angelus, Assistant Professor (INFO)
  • David Gomillion, Clinical Assistant Professor (INFO)
  • Priyanka Dwivedi, Assistant Professor (MGMT)
  • Altay Dikec, Visiting Lecturer (MKTG)
  • Amalesh Sharma, Assistant Professor (MKTG)

Mays on the Move


  • Melissa Burns, Administrative Associate IV (CIBS)
  • Mitch Lederman, Senior Associate Director (CMC)
  • Cindy Billington, Director (DEANS)
  • Diane Johnson, Business Administrator II (DEANS)
  • Brian Bishop, Assistant Vice President for Development (DEANS, Development)
  • Ron Chandler, Director, CHRM (MGMT)


  • Chris Muir, Clinical Assistant Professor (BUSP)
  • Henry Musoma, Clinical Assistant Professor  (CIBS)
  • Manjit Yadav, Interim Department Head   (MKTG)


  • J. Rogers Rainey, Jr. and Kathleen L. Rainey, Class of 1944 Chair in Accounting: Lynn Rees (ACCT),
  • KPMG Chair in Accounting: Jerry Strawser (ACCT)
  • Hugh Roy Cullen Chair in Business Administration: Chelliah Sriskandarajah (INFO)

Endowed Professorships:

Reappointments: Anderson Clayton & Co. and the Clayton Fund Professorship in Business Administration – Mike Pustay (MGMT)


Texas A&M Association of Former Students Teaching Awards: Sean McGuire (ACCT), Dwayne Whitten (INFO), and Michael Wesson (MGMT) (presented by Marty Holmes ’87, vice president of The Association of Former Students)

Advisor of the Year for Registered Student Organizations: Amy Thompson (BUSP)

Mays Staff Council Recognition of Service: Kelly Pampell (FINC) Member, University Staff Council representing Mays Elected to University Staff Council Executive Team, and Angela Caitlin (DEANS) Mays Business Staff Council Chair 2016-2017

CTE Scholar Award: James Abbey (INFO)

Ernst & Young Teaching Excellence Award: Matt Ege (ACCT) and April Nafstad (ACCT)

Herb Thompson Teaching Award in Marketing: Andrew Loring (MKTG)

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship from Mays Business School, the 2017 Career Achievement Award for Distinguished Services from the Academy of Management, and the 2017 Distinguished Service Award from the Strategic Management Division of the Academy of Management: Duane Ireland (DEANS)

2017 Career Achievement Award for Distinguished Educator from the Academy of Management: Professor Emeritus Mike Hitt (MGMT)

Mays Grand Challenge Research Grant Awards: Sorin Sorescu (FINC), Neil Geismar (INFO), Arun Sen (INFO), Chelliah Sriskandarjah (INFO), Jon Stauffer (INFO), Hari Sridhar (MKTG), and shared awards were presented to Cindy Devers (MGMT) and Cindy Zapata (MGMT); Ramona Paetzold (MGMT) and Chriagg Mittal (MKTG); Mike Howard (MGMT) and Mike Withers (MGMT)

Mays Grand Challenge Teaching Grant Award: Janet Parish (MKTG)

Special thanks:

  • Mary Lea McAnally (ACCT), who served as Accounting Ph.D. Program Director 2006 – 2008, Associate Professor of Accounting 2002 – 2009, Van Houten Professor of Accounting 2009 – 2012, Associate Dean of Graduate Programs 2011 – 2015, Director of Innovation and Strategic Planning 2015 – 2017, and Phillip J. Ljungdahl Endowed Chair in Accounting 2012 – Present
  • Director of Communications Diane McDonald (DEANS)

Other Mays news:

  • The Texas A&M Foundation’s Sterling C. Evans Medal was presented to Kay ’02 and Jerry Cox ’72
  • Louis Paletta ’78 of the Dean’s Advisory Board was named as Trustee for the Texas A&M Foundation
  • Jeff Miller ’88 was named as President and CEO of Halliburton