The spring faculty and staff meeting was a time of celebration. Among the announcements were news that the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) had reaccredited Mays Business School and the Department of Accounting. The process required extensive documentation and a site visit from a peer review team.

Dean Eli Jones also announced plans to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Mays Business School. More details about this special weekend are at A celebratory toast with nonalcoholic juice and cakes was held in the lobby of the Wehner Building.

Also announced were the following promotions:

  • David Griffith, professor and head of the Department of Marketing, professor and head, with tenure on arrival. Manjit Yadav was thanked for his service as interim head of the Department of Marketing.
  • Jeremiah Green (Accounting), to associate professor with tenure on arrival.
  • Neil Giesmar (INFO) and Dechun Wang (Accounting), to professor.
  • Michael Howard and Michael Withers (both of Management), to associate professor with tenure.
  • Aaron Becker (INFO), Michelle Diaz (Accounting), and Sudarsan Rangan (INFO), to clinical associate professor.
  • Tara Blasor (Accounting) to senior lecturer.

Reappointments were:

  • Anwer Ahmed (Accounting), Ashley ’88 and David Coolidge ’87 Chair in Business,
  • Wendy Boswell (Management), Jerry and Kay Cox Chair in Business,
  • Jim Benjamin (Accounting), Deloitte Leadership Professorship

Chairs and professorship appointments announced were:

  • Dechun Wang (Accounting), Ljungdahl PwC Chair in Accounting,
  • Rich Metters (INFO), Paul M. and Rosalie Robertson Chair in Business,
  • David A Griffith (Marketing), Hallie Vanderhider Chair in Business,
  • Jeremiah Green (Accounting), Ernst & Young Professorship in Accounting,
  • Mary Lea McAnally (Accounting), PwC Professorship in Accounting,
  • Stephen Courtright (Management), John E. Pearson Professorship in Business Administration,
  • Cindy Devers (Management), Lawrence E. Fouraker Professorship in Business Administration.

Faculty awards announced were:

  • Xenophen Koufteros (INFO), The Association of Former Students 2018 Distinguished Achievement Awards,
  • Janet Parish (Marketing), University Professors of Undergraduate Teaching Excellence,
  • Ricky W. Griffin, 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Scholarship (celebration set for Sept. 14),
  • Mike Kinney (Accounting), Executive MBA Faculty Excellence Award, Class of 2018,
  • Mary Lea McAnally (Accounting), Professional MBA Faculty Excellence Award, Class of 2018,
  • Karen Farmer and Nate Sharp (both of Accounting), the David and Denise Baggett Teaching Excellence Award.
  • Mays Summer Teaching Awards: Aaron Becker (INFO), Tara Blasor (Accounting), Kyle Gammenthaler (Undergraduate Special Programs Office), Sandi Lampo (Marketing), and Vanita Mahajan (Management).
  • Tim Dye (Finance), Lockheed Martin and Gardiner Family Awards.

Outstanding Ph.D. Teaching Awards went to Mehmet Kara (Accounting), Steven Diedrich (Finance), Le (Lexi) Kang (Finance), Zingzhi Jia (INFO), Laura Jones (Management), Brady Hodges (Marketing), and Hooman Miramad (Marketing).

Outstanding Ph.D. Research Awards went to Scott Rane (Accounting), Shuting (Sophia) Hu, Finance, Seokjum Youn (INFO), Jingyu (Sissi) Li (Management), Larisa Ertekin (Marketing).

New faculty and staff colleagues were introduced:

  • Jeffrey Glenn, program coordinator (BUSP),
  • Patrick Connor, program coordinator (CED),
  • Amy Dahmann, program manager (CED),
  • Natsuki Hara, administrative associate (CIBS),
  • Bill Peel, executive director of innovation and strategic planning (Dean’s office),
  • Stephen Cisneros, director of development (Dean’s office),
  • John Cannavo, program coordinator (Mays Innovation Research Center),
  • Marcus Salinas, software applications developer (Dean’s, Mays Innovation Research Center),
  • Kaity Gillispie, administrative associate (Finance),
  • Bradley Sharp, lecturer (Finance),
  • Katharyn Stober, assistant director (MBA),
  • Audrey Fadal, program coordinator (McFerrin Center),
  • LauraLee Hughes, assistant director New Ventures (McFerrin Center),
  • Lane King, program coordinator (McFerrin Center),
  • Michael Pace, lecturer (Management),
  • Erin Hardin, assistant research scientist (Real Estate Center),
  • Cheryl Harford, business coordinator I (Real Estate Center),
  • Cydney Donnell, (Finance), A&M Foundation Partner in Philanthropy Award
  • Marty Loudder will step down as associate dean for undergraduate programs and assessment on May 31, and Annie McGowan will take on that role effective June 1.


  • Glenda Bessler, administrative assistant (Marketing),
  • Patsy-Rose Goodnight, administrative coordinator (Real Estate Center),
  • Robert Johnson, clinical associate professor (INFO),
  • Mike Kinney, assistant dean for graduate programs (MBA).

Staff STAR Performer Awards: Darryl Bowery ( Accounting), Ashley Hilgemeier (CED), Nyetta Meaux (MBA), Sandy Raymond (Career Management Center), Shanna Spencer (McFerrin Center), Veronica Stilley (INFO),

Lauren Osborne of the Center for Retailing Studies was recognized for being named Texas A&M Advisor of the Year.

Recognized for years of service were: 40 years: Charles Gilliland (Real Estate Center). 35 years: Edward Swanson (Accounting), Len Bierman (Management), Ed Elmore (Management), and Leonard Berry (Marketing). 30 years: Ben Welch (CED), Lois Carter (Finance), and Sabrina Saladino (Management). 25 years: Chris Potter (Accounting), Tim Dye (Finance), and Harold Hunt (Real Estate Center). 20 years: Mary Stasny (Accounting), Darryl Bowery (Accounting), Lynn Rees (Accounting), Kristi Mora (Management), Blake Petty (McFerrin Center), Clarissa Means (Marketing).