Texas A&M | Mays Impacts - Part 76

D. Bruce Edwards, a 1991 Mays accounting graduate, became Texas A&M associate vice president for finance in February.

Edwards, who was director of operations finance at Delta Airlines in Atlanta, took over the position vacated by Thomas Taylor on Jan. 31. Edwards now oversees the budgets under senior vice president and chief financial officer K. Sue Redman.

“We are very excited to have attracted a person of Mr. Edwards caliber to this position. He will bring a corporate perspective to the Division of Finance operations,” Redman said in making the announcement.

Edwards holds a BBA from Mays and an MBA with a finance concentration from the University of Texas.

Categories: Former Students, Texas A&M

The West Campus Library will soon focus solely on the needs of Mays Business School, allowing Mays faculty and students to enjoy greater access to research and support materials.

Since opening, the West Campus Library has served Mays as well as the agriculture and life sciences departments, which are also housed on West Campus. Due to significant disparity between disciplines, this arrangement has prevented both groups from receiving optimal service, according to Michael Smith, West Campus Library’s interim director.

In an effort to improve service for both parties, resources and library staff that were dedicated to agriculture and life sciences will be relocated to the nearby Medical Sciences Library.

“The primary difference that students and faculty will notice is that there will be more room in the R.C. Barclay Reference and Retailing Center for business reference material,” Smith says, adding a set date for the transition process has not been established yet. “Additionally, our customers will also now be assured that the staff member helping them at our reference desk is a business generalist/specialist. Beyond these two outward changes, it is our intention to strengthen our relationship with Mays and to develop programs that directly support its mission.”

Smith emphasizes that even though changes will be made, all Texas A&M students, regardless of academic discipline, are welcome to use the library’s reference and computer resources and study spaces.

Categories: Centers, Research Notes, Students, Texas A&M

The Center for the Management of Information Systems’ (CMIS) fifth annual Women in Information Technology centered on helping students build their careers. The event drew students from Texas A&M as well as Prairie View A&M, Texas A&M International and Corpus Christi.

The half-day conference gave students multiple opportunities to interact with women in the IT profession through both round-table discussions and an interactive panel.

The panel was facilitated by Gwendolyn Wright-Morris, a senior programmer analyst with FedEx and featured Pam Crawford, manager of strategy and optimization at ConocoPhillips; Elaine Gordon, director of software testing at Dell; Julie Yancey, director of recruiting and training at FedEx; and Andrea Jacaman, director of TXU’s retail customer systems program.

Panelists discussed what they believe are essential components of “Career Building,” which was this year’s theme.

“I cannot say strongly enough that everything in life is about continuing education,” said Crawford. “Whether it’s an advanced degree or on the job, don’t ignore chances to grow.”

Categories: Centers, Executive Speakers, Students, Texas A&M

Mays alumnus Gen. Hal M. Hornburg ’68 , of Langley AFB, Va., will be inducted into Texas A&M University’s Corps Hall of Honor on October 11.

The Corps Hall of Honor was established in 1993 to pay tribute to former members of the university’s Corps of Cadets who have lived a life that exemplifies the Texas Aggie spirit. They must also possess the values on which the Corps is founded: honor, loyalty, service, pride, patriotism, faith, leadership and honesty. To date, 44 former cadets have been inducted.

Hornburg graduated from Texas A&M in 1968 with a degree in finance. Four other former cadets will be inducted into the Hall of Honor with Hornburg including James. L. Huffines Jr. ’44, Edward F. Kruse ’49, Howard W. Kruse ’52 and Jon L. Hagler ’58.

Categories: Departments, Former Students, Texas A&M

Several Mays faculty members have been named to the 11-member search committee charged with selecting Texas A&M’s new athletic director. Former Dean Benton Cocanougher — who was named a special assistant to President Robert Gates — is serving as chair of the committee.

Joining him are Dr. James Flagg, associate accounting professor and chair of the Texas A&M University Athletic Council and Dr. Robert Strawser, who holds the Andersen Chair in Accounting and serves as Faculty Senate speaker.

In addition, the school’s namesake Lowry Mays ’57, CEO of Clear Channel Communications, and benefactor Jerry Cox ’72, CEO of Cox & Perkins Exploration, are also serving on the search committee.

Categories: Departments, Faculty, Texas A&M

Former Dean Benton Cocanougher has recently been named special assistant to Texas A&M’s new president, Robert M. Gates.

Cocanougher, dean emeritus of the college and Wiley Professor, will help build and maintain communications with external constituencies of the university. He will also provide advice on priority issues and undertake special projects and studies as requested by President Gates.

Categories: Texas A&M

Starting Aug. 1, Dr. Robert Gates assumes the top position at Texas A&M University. The former CIA director takes over as university president upon the departure of Dr. Ray Bowen, who is stepping down after eight years of service.

This will be a return for Gates, as he served as interim dean of the Bush School of Government and Public service from 1999-2001. Prior to that post, the Kansas native spent 27 years with the CIA, serving six presidents, as well as nine years with the National Security Council.

Categories: Texas A&M

Marketing Professor Dr. Rajan Varadarajan has been named the first Ford Motor Company Chair in Consumerism/E-Commerce/E-Business. Ford established the chair position last year to support a nationally recognized marketing scholar who provides academic and professional program leadership in the areas of e-commerce, e-business and consumerism.

Varadarajan, who also serves as the head of the Department of Marketing, has published a number of journal articles on corporate, business and marketing strategy, marketing management and global competitive strategy, as well as co-authored a textbook. He has been recognized by Texas A&M and the Mays College for his research achievements.

Categories: Departments, Faculty, Texas A&M

Dr. Dan Robertson, Mays MBA Program director and marketing professor, was recently honored by the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents for his dedicated service to the university. He was named a 2000-2001 Regents Professor, which is among the highest honors given by the board.

Also known as Dr. Dan, Robertson joined the Mays College in 1981 and has since held numerous administrative positions both within the college and university. In addition to teaching graduate and undergraduate marketing courses, he has also served as faculty advisor to various student groups, including the MBA Association, Pi Sigma Epsilon and the Graduate Student Council.

Categories: Departments, Faculty, Texas A&M

Two staff members are retiring after successful careers with the Mays College and Texas A&M. Lucy Morgan, an administrative assistant with the college’s Center for Retailing Studies, is retiring after 15 years of dedicated service to A&M. Laura Taska, a staff assistant in the Real Estate Center, is also retiring this summer, after more than six years with the college and a total of 13 with the university.

Categories: Departments, Faculty, Texas A&M