Debbie and Mike Houx ’73 of Albuquerque, New Mexico have established the Debbie and Mike Houx ’73 Learning Endowment. The $250,000 fund may be used in all areas of Mays’ programs. But the Houxes particularly want the fund to support entrepreneurship, helping students get the tools needed to succeed — from one entrepreneur to another.

“It is a privilege, as well as a timely opportunity, to be a part of the momentum that continues to grow at Mays Business School,” says Mike Houx, president and dealer-operator of Sandia Automotive Corp. in New Mexico. “Debbie and I will always value our contribution to Mays Business School as a mutual commitment representing our appreciation of how Texas A&M has touched our lives.”

Since graduating from Mays in 1973 with a BBA in management, Houx has been involved in the automotive sales industry. He also plays an active role in his community, including serving on the board of the Albuquerque Museum Foundation. He was also a charter board member of the Albuquerque Texas A&M Club and was Aggie Muster chairman in 2000 and 2003.

Categories: Donors Corner, Former Students

Funding was recently completed for the $500,000 Ljungdahl/PricewaterhouseCoopers Chair in Accounting, named in honor of former Mays faculty member Dr. Philip Ljungdahl, who died in an automobile accident in 1989. The endowment supports excellence in teaching and quality research in accounting.

Ljungdahl, who joined Mays in 1970, taught more than 10 different accounting courses and served as chair for more than 30 master’s and doctoral students during his tenure at Texas A&M. He received a Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching from The Association of Former Students, the Outstanding Teacher Award from Mays Business School and the Student Council Award for Distinguished Faculty-Student Relations.

“We have consistently faced a very competitive market for qualified accounting educators,” says Department of Accounting Head Jim Benjamin. “This significant endowment will increase our ability to attract and retain outstanding faculty — those with similar interests in teaching, scholarship and mentoring students as Phil Ljungdahl.”

Long-time Mays supporters F.R. Bennett ’27 and the partners and staff of PricewaterhouseCoopers funded the endowment. Bennett, who owned an insurance business in Dallas until he retired in 1970, created eight scholarships and four chairs at Mays before he passed away in 2002.

PricewaterhouseCoopers has previously endowed several scholarships, a graduate fellowship, a faculty fellowship and two professorships in the accounting department, with a combined current value of exceeding $2 million. The firm is also currently funding an accounting excellence endowment as part of Texas A&M’s One Spirit, One Vision campaign.

Categories: Departments, Donors Corner, Faculty

Charlie Plum was one of those professors that truly loved his students. And that affection was returned tenfold. During Plum’s tenure at Mays, he estimates teaching accounting for non-majors to more than 6,100 students.

But Plum’s influence went far beyond the classroom. In fact, Plum has served as a life-long mentor to a former Mays student, Willie Langston ’80, that he never taught in the classroom.

Langston and his wife, Marian ’82, honored Plum’s devotion to teaching by endowing a room in his honor, the Charles W. Plum Seminar Room, in the Cox Graduate Business Center. The room was dedicated in front of a standing-room only crowd at a recent ceremony.

Read more about Plum and Langston in the June 2002 issue of Mays Business Online.

Categories: Departments, Donors Corner, Faculty, Former Students

Mays’ new SBC Foundation Lecture Hall was recently dedicated in the Wehner Building. John Atterbury III, a 1970 Texas A&M graduate and group president of SBC Communications Inc., was on hand to celebrate the event, as was Texas A&M President Robert Gates.

“A&M and SBC have a lot in common,” Atterbury told the students, faculty and staff in attendance. “They have both endured over the years because they do things right. They also both take pride in the tradition of serving people, the spirit of being the best, and the vision that we have yet to see our best days.”

The SBC Foundation contributed $500,000 to Wehner’s expansion, which also includes the new Cox Graduate Business Center slated to open in the fall.

Categories: Centers, Donors Corner, Faculty, Former Students, Students

Three former students were recently honored at the Mays College’s annual Outstanding Alumni Awards. John T. Eubanks of Grapevine and Larry Levine and John V. McNevin, both of Houston, were chosen because of outstanding contributions in their professional careers and exemplary service to their communities, said Dean Benton Cocanougher.

Eubanks, who received a BBA in Accounting 1962, is the former chairman and chief executive officer of Mesco Metal Buildings, a manufacturer and builder of engineered metal building systems and components. Receiving his BBA in Management in 1971, Levine is president of Levcor, Inc., a full service real estate development company, and of Levtex Hotel Ventures, a developer of shopping centers and office buildings. McNevin received his BBA in 1973 and MBA in 1974 and is the founder and chairman of EnFORM Technology, a high-tech consulting firm.

Categories: Donors Corner, Former Students

Thanks to the generous support of Roy F. and Joann Cole Mitte, 75 undergraduate and graduate distinguished business students are pursing their educational through the Mitte Scholarship Program. The Mittes were recently honored at a reception and dinner by the college, which featured entertainment by the Texas A&M Singing Cadets. The 2000 Mitte Scholars were also recognized during the program for their academic achievements.

Categories: Donors Corner, Texas A&M

Representatives of Ford Motor Company recently visited Texas A&M, meeting some of the Mays College’s brightest students. Undergraduate and graduate students in the Ford Scholars Program were on hand to greet representatives from Ford Motor Company and acknowledge the company’s generous support of their academic pursuits in the college. Members of Ford’s team visiting the college included: Carlos E. Mazzorin, group vice president of global purchasing and South America; Chuck Maitland, director of manufacturing; Linda Plawecki, purchasing manager; Candy Chatawanich, body structures engineer; Alberto Piccone, purchasing manager; and Denny Igun, recruiting account manager.

Through a recent partnership with the college, the Ford Scholars Program was established to recognize students’ outstanding academic achievements. Thanks to the collaboration, the Mays College also established the Ford Motor Company Chair in Consumerism/E-Commerce/E-Business, the Ford Faculty Fellowship and the Ford Excellence Fund.

Categories: Donors Corner, Texas A&M