Mays students were among those honored with two of Texas A&M’s most prestigious student awards at the Parents’ Weekend All-University Awards Ceremony held in April.

Mays’ recipients of the 2003 Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Award were Melanie Fox, Brooke Bludau and Marshall Trenckmann. The Association of Former Students gives the award annually in conjunction with the Texas A&M Student Government Association to the sophomore, junior and senior with the highest grade point ratio from each college. The award, established in 1973, is named in honor of the university’s first president.

Each year the Buck Weirus Spirit Award is given to 52 students in recognition of their involvement, enthusiasm and embodiment of the Aggie Spirit. The award honors Richard “Buck” Weirus ’42, who served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980.

Mays’ recipients of the 2003 Buck Weirus Spirit Award were: David Thompson, Jr.; Amy Binks; Anna Hollier; Alfred Huebinger; Katherine Bailey; Robin Cappel; Justin Clark; Richard Cronin; Katherine Lemmon; Joseph Medina; Jeremy Whitbeck; Eric Bethea; John Casares; Elizabeth Dacus; Brittany Denton; Rachelle Gentry and Alexander King.