Seventh Annual Young Scholars Finance Consortium

March 30th – April 1st, 2023

REGISTRATION: We have limited seating. Please contact Xiaoding Liu at if you would like to attend.

The Young Scholars Finance Consortium is an annual conference that provides promising junior faculty and advanced Ph.D. students in finance with the opportunity to present their research and receive feedback from each other as well as a select group of highly accomplished scholars.

TOPICS: The topics of our annual consortium alternate between Asset Pricing/Investments and Corporate Finance/Financial Intermediation. This year’s conference theme is Corporate Finance/Financial Intermediation.

This year’s keynote speaker will be Wei Jiang, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance at Emory University. The program committee for the 2023 Consortium includes Sudheer Chava, Mark Flannery, Jarrad Harford, Jerry Hoberg, Kose John, Jonathan Karpoff, Josh Lerner, Katharina Lewellen, Kai Li, Karl Lins, Tim Loughran, Vikram Nanda, Paige Ouimet, Chris Parsons, Jay Ritter, Clemens Sialm, Tracy Wang, Wenyu Wang, James Weston, Feng Zhang, as well as the entire research-active Finance faculty at Texas A&M University.

We invite advanced Ph.D. students and untenured faculty, who received their first full-time faculty appointment within the last seven years, to submit both theoretical and empirical papers to the conference (non-presenting co-authors may be more senior). To encourage Ph.D. student participation, we will guarantee a presentation slot, pay all travel expenses, and waive the registration fee for the presenter of the best paper whose authors are all Ph.D. students.

CONFERENCE DETAILS: The conference will begin with a 6 pm cocktail party on Thursday, March 30th, followed by a full day of sessions, keynote address, and dinner on March 31st. Events on Saturday, April 1st, will consist of a half-day of sessions and a lunch.

Please contact Xiaoding Liu at if you would like additional information.

Past Finance Consortiums