Second Annual Young Scholars Finance Consortium

March 30 to April 1, 2017

Click Here for 2018 Consortium Call For Papers

Conference Program

The Young Scholars Finance Consortium is an annual conference that provides promising junior faculty in Finance and advanced Ph.D. students the opportunity to present their work and receive feedback from each other as well as a select group of pre-invited highly accomplished senior scholars.

The program committee includes Kerry Back, Turan Bali, David Chapman, Lauren Cohen, Zhi Da, Itamar Drechsler, Gregory Duffee, Wayne Ferson, Paolo Fulghieri, Michael Gallmeyer, Lorenzo Garlappi, Itay Goldstein, Burton Hollifield, Ravi Jagannathan, Michael Johannes, Bing Han, Lars Hansen, Ralph Koijen, Jon Lewellen, Deborah Lucas, Luis Viceira, Jessica Wachter, Russ Wermers, Motohiro Yogo, Fernando Zapatero, and Lu Zheng in addition to the entire research-active Finance faculty at Texas A&M University. Most of these prominent scholars have committed to serve as discussants in the 2017 consortium.

Lars P. Hansen, 2013 recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics, will present the keynote speech.

TOPICS: The 2017 Consortium will focus on the topics of asset pricing and investments, and the topics of subsequent consortia will alternate between asset pricing and last year’s inaugural consortium’s topic, corporate finance. We kindly invite all advanced Ph.D. students and untenured junior faculty, who received their first full-time faculty appointment within the last seven years, to submit papers related to asset pricing and investment for the upcoming consortium (non-presenting co-authors may be more senior). There is no submission fee, and we welcome both theoretical and empirical work.

To encourage Ph.D. student participation, we will guarantee a presentation slot, pay reasonable travel expenses and waive the registration fee for the presenter of the best paper whose authors are all Ph.D. students.

CONFERENCE DETAILS: The conference will begin with a cocktail party on the evening of Thursday, March 30, followed by a full day of sessions and a dinner-time keynote address. Events on April 1 will consist of a half day of sessions and a lunch. These meals are included in the $200 registration fee.

The conference will take place at the Mays Business School’s facility at the City Centre complex in Houston, TX, which is located only 20 minutes from the Houston Bush International airport and has many high-end shops and restaurants within walking distance. Attendees will receive a discounted rate at the Hotel Sorella, which is across the street from the conference venue.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Please contact Hagen Kim at if you have any questions.