Third Annual Young Scholars Finance Consortium

March 22 – 24, 2018

The Young Scholars Finance Consortium is an annual conference that provides promising Junior Faculty in Finance and advanced Ph.D. students the opportunity to present their work and receive feedback from each other as well as a select group of pre-invited highly accomplished senior scholars.

The program committee includes Anup Agrawal, Allen Berger, Patrick Bolton, Alon Brav, Murillo Campello, Sudheer Chava, Francesca Cornelli, Paolo Fulghieri, Itay Goldstein, Jarrad Harford, Christopher Hennessy, Steve Kaplan, Katharina Lewellen, Darius Miller, Kevin Murphy, Vik Nanda, Manju Puri, Adriano Rampini, David Robinson, Phil Strahan, Vish Vishwanathan, Zhenyu Wang, James Weston, David Yermack, as well as the entire research-active Finance faculty at Texas A&M University. Several of these prominent scholars have committed to serve as discussants in the 2018 consortium.

Peter M. DeMarzo will present the Keynote Address.

TOPICS: Our Annual Consortium’s topics alternate between Corporate Finance / Financial Intermediation and Asset Pricing / Investments. The 2018 Consortium will focus on Corporate Finance / Financial Intermediation.

We kindly invite all advanced Ph.D. students and untenured junior faculty, who received their first full-time faculty appointment within the last seven years, to submit papers related to Corporate Finance and Financial Intermediation for the upcoming Consortium (co-authors may be more senior). There is no submission fee, and both theoretical and empirical work is welcome.

To encourage Ph.D. student participation, we will guarantee a presentation slot, pay all travel expenses and waive the registration fee for the presenter of the best paper whose authors are all Ph.D. students.

CONFERENCE DETAILS: The conference will begin with a 6pm cocktail party on Thursday, March 22, followed by a full day of sessions, Keynote Address, and dinner on March 23. Events on Saturday, March 24 will consist of a half day of sessions and a lunch that ends around 1pm. These meals are included in the $225 registration fee. The conference will take place at Mays Business School in College Station, TX. Participants can fly into College Station (CLL). We will also provide convenient transportation free of charge to and from the Houston (IAH) airport at set times on Thursday and Saturday. Attendees will stay at The George, a brand-new 4-star hotel, only minutes away from our school.

We have limited seating. Please contact Christa Bouwman at if you would like to attend.


Past Finance Consortiums